Mortal Kombat: Armageddon

More info »

Mortal Kombat: Armageddon


Weird and wonderful foes await

The final battle

Mortal Kombat made its debut in the early 1990s as a controversial fighting game containing over-the-top violence and gore. Mortal Kombat: Armageddon is the seventh entry to the core Mortal Kombat series containing more characters than any MK title to date.

Armageddon was originally released on the PlayStation 2 and Xbox in October of 2006. A port of the game is in the works for the Nintendo Wii. Armageddon for the Wii will support the innovative Wii remote in conjunction with the nunchuck attachment. Those in want of a more standard control scheme have the option of playing with the Classic or GameCube controller.

The increasing strength of the warriors is threatening to destroy the very fabric of the Mortal Kombat universe. Blaze was created by the Edenian sorceress Delia to ensure the survival of the realms by destroying as many fighters as possible. Friendships and alliances mean nothing in Armageddon. The price of failure is death.

Both the PS2 and Xbox version contain an over-whelming 62 fighters including every character featured in the core Mortal Kombat games. The Wii version improves on this with the developers including a 63rd character, Khameleon, to join the likes of Scorpion, Liu Kang and Sub-Zero in Armageddon.

One feature removed from the Wii version of Mortal Kombat: Armageddon is the ability to fight players online. Ed Boon, the co-creator of the Mortal Kombat series, stated that online would?ve been include if the online infrastructure had been ready and if Nintendo had divulged the information needed to 3rd parties.

The modes of Kombat

The standard Kombat mode has players choosing one of the many available characters and attempting to work their ways to the top of ladder (of varying difficultly) where they will face the final boss, Blaze.

A reworked Konquest mode makes a comeback in Armageddon. Konquest is an adventure mode that has players travelling across different realms with a new character to the series, the half-God Taven. His brother, Daegon, is the games only other new character, as well the antagonist of the Konquest mode. As Taven travels across the different realms he will encounter a wide range of enemies. Most commonly Taven will combat against thugs and henchmen-type characters. During these battles Taven has full 3D movement and can pull of a variety of attacks that target multiple enemies.

Scattered around the different realms are boss battles consisting of characters from the Mortal Kombat universe. These battles take place in a standard arena as opposed to the over-world combat seen with the generic enemies.

Endurance is a new mode exclusive to the Wii. Basically it requires players to fight a series of opponents without any health being restored after each fight.
Wiimote: the ultimate weapon

Players choosing to utilize the GameCube or Classic controllers will find the controls to be similar to that of other console fighters. However players wanting to make use of the Wiimote/nunchuck combination have the ability to control their favourites using the innovation control scheme developed specifically for the Wii version.

The nunchuck attachment is used primarily for movement and blocking. The standard attacks are pulled of using the D-Pad on the Wiimote while the special moves are executed with the motion sensing prowess of the Wii. The special moves appear to be very simple to pull off with most moves only requiring basic gestures from the player. Scorpion?s Spin Kick, for example, is executed by performing a circular motion with the Wiimote while Sektor teleports by flicking the controller up and down.